Yahoo! unveils the winners for the third annual OMG! Awards: Marian Rivera crowned 2013’s Yahoo! OMG!Celebrity of the Year

Dedicated fans voted for today’s most popular Filipino celebrities in this year’s most anticipated entertainment race

9.25 million votes were tallied; Marian Rivera crowned 2013’s Yahoo! OMG!Celebrity of the Year

MANILA – Yahoo! Philippines successfully reached another exciting finale of one of its many anticipated events – the Yahoo! OMG! Awards. This event, which gives Filipino fans a voice to express their support for celebrities and entertainment figures, marks its 3rd year.DSC05741

The triumph of this year’s 3rd Yahoo! OMG! Awards surpassed expectations as a total of 9,258,508 votes were cast in a total of 22 categories whose nominees were neck and neck during the voting period which took place from June 4 to July 12, 2013.

On July 19, 2013, SM Mall of Asia Arena rolled out the purple carpet for a whopping 12,000 attendees composed of VIPs, celebrities, media figures, and of course, the fans.

Winning the Yahoo! OMG!Child Star of the Year with 205,282 votes was the lovable Ryzza Mae Dizon, who delighted the fans with her delectable charm and energy.

Infecting us with their humor and wit were Vice Ganda who won as Yahoo! OMG!Comedian of the Year with 190,861 votes, while Eugene Domingo took home the award of Yahoo! OMG!Comedienne of the Year with 138,587 votes. Bringing us quality conversation and a riveting connection to the audience and listeners made Papa Jack of Love Radio 90.7 win Yahoo! OMG!Male Radio DJ of the Year with 161,350 votes and Nicole Hyala win Yahoo! OMG!Female Radio DJ of the Year with 126,609 votes.A total of 133,004 votes were garnered as Barangay LS 97.1 won Yahoo! OMG!FMRadio Station of the Year while a total of 101,135 votes were garnered as Tambalan (90.7 Love Radio) won Yahoo! OMG!Radio Show of the Year.

The Yahoo! OMG!Male TV Host of the Year and Yahoo! OMG! Female TV Host of the Year, presented by McCafe,were received by Vic Sotto with 151,916 votes and Toni Gonzaga with 148,042 votes, respectively.

 A good show is never forgotten and to prove just that were Elmo Magalona and Julie Anne San Jose who took home Yahoo! OMG!Male Performer of the Year with 134,471 votes and Yahoo! OMG!Female Performer of the Year with 309,132 votes.

Just showing how immensely committed their fans have been to push for their favorite celebrities’ success, a special category was created to honor the fans’ choices in the entertainment industry. Yahoo! OMG!Fan Club of the Year went to JuliElmo Pexers (fans of Julie Anne San Jose and Elmo Magalona), garnering 244,531 votes. While the fandom was very much felt, undeniable chemistry was definitely in the air as Kim Chiu and Xian Lim accepted the award for Yahoo! OMG!Best Love Team of the Year, gathering 325,453 votes. 

Garnering 169,953 votes for Yahoo! OMG!Best Movie of the Year was Cathy Garcia-Molina’s It Takes a Man and a Woman, whose compelling storyline about the relationship of fan-loved couple Miggy and Laida after their break-up in the third installment of the A Very Special Love film series truly captivated viewers. Television drama has never been as emotionally touching as Ina, Kapatid, Anak took home Yahoo! OMG!Teleserye of the Year with 205,468 votes. Noon time has never been always surprisingly entertaining and energizing – to prove this was Eat Bulaga who won Yahoo! OMG!Noontime Show of the Year with 184,993 votes. While these shows gave us a good and healthy amusement, TV Patrol ruled the evening newscast race by winning Yahoo! OMG!News and Public Affairs of the Year, with 159,874 votes.

 An exciting journey awaits Enrique Gil who won Yahoo! OMG!Breakthrough Actor of the Year with 316,772 votesand Kathryn Bernardo who won Yahoo! OMG!Breakthrough Actress of the Year with 278,152 votes. An even more experienced and solidified acting journey was reached by Coco Martin, who deservingly took home Yahoo! OMG!Actor of the Year with 190,262 votes, and Angel Locsin, for Yahoo! OMG!Actress of the Year with 263,220 votes.

Finally, a total of 182,744 votes were tallied for the prestigious Yahoo! OMG!Celebrity of the Year award – and it came down to Marian Rivera who received the crown. Fellow nominees were Anne Curtis, Richard Yap and Jodi Sta. Maria (Be Careful with My Heart), Sarah Geronimo, and Angel Locsin.

The purple carpet was graced by only the most stunning celebrities. Among the many who turned heads included, Charice, Coco Martin, Derek Ramsay and Marian Rivera.

Hosted by energetic tandem Edu Manzano and Billy Crawford, the night was filled with enthralling and gripping numbers from Gary Valenciano, Kris Lawrence, Billy Crawford, Charice Pempengco, Julie Anne San Jose, Franco, Kjwan, Solenn Heusaff, Lovi Poe, Erik Santos, Rachelle Ann Go, Christian Bautista, Jon Santos, Elmo Magalona, Young JV, and Yeng `Constantino, making it the most iconic event of the entertainment industry this year. A rousing finale featuring the Yahoo! OMG Awards 2013 Media Magnet Charice and the Philippine All-Stars brought the house down.

The third annual Yahoo! OMG! Awards ceremony recognized winners from 22 categories, selected through popular search queries and polling methods online on Yahoo!’s leading entertainment property in the Philippines. OMG! official results were tallied via online and SMS voting.

Yahoo! OMG! Awards was co-presented by McCafe and sponsored by Jag, Colgate Optic White, Cream Silk and Pond’s.

For more details on the awards, please visit

About Yahoo!

Yahoo! is focused on making the world’s daily habits more inspiring and entertaining. By creating highly personalized experiences for our users, we keep people connected to what matters most to them, across devices and around the world. In turn, we create value for advertisers by connecting them with the audiences that build their businesses. Yahoo! is headquartered in Sunnyvale, Calif., and has offices located throughout the Americas, Asia Pacific (APAC) and the Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) regions. For more information, visit the pressroom ( or the company’s blog (


About Admin

simple person living life to the fullest!
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Yahoo! unveils the winners for the third annual OMG! Awards: Marian Rivera crowned 2013’s Yahoo! OMG!Celebrity of the Year

  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning
    this blog. I am hoping to check out the same high-grade content from you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my very
    own blog now 😉

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s